Scholarship Program

A number of decades ago, the trustees of the Wayne Police Athletic League had the forethought to initiate a program that would recognize selected individuals in a special manner.  The program, today better known as the Wayne PAL Scholarship Program, is one of the premier scholarships available to the students of Wayne Township schools.

Representatives of the Board of Trustees, both past and present, the Wayne Police Department, the Wayne Board of Education and Wayne business leaders annually review applications from students attending Wayne Valley High School, Wayne Hills High School and DePaul Catholic High School.  Each student, unidentified to the reviewers, is evaluated based on academic excellence, community service and involvement at the Wayne PAL.  Grade points are then assigned.  The four candidates with the highest accumulation of grade points are the recipients of the four Wayne PAL Scholarships.

Over the years the awards have been named to honor former members of the Wayne PAL who significantly contributed to the advancement of the organization and epitomized the qualities upon which the Wayne PAL was founded.

William Bolan, Jr. Memorial Scholarship
Presented in the honor of William Bolan, Jr.  William Bolan, Jr. was a fine young man who was a very active member of the Wayne PAL.

Paul Mortensen Memorial Scholarship
Presented in the honor of Paul Mortensen, an individual who was instrumental in the formation of the scholarship program and the first chairman of the Scholarship Selection Committee.

Robert B. Albano Memorial Scholarship
Presented in the honor of Robert B. Albano, a young man who exemplified the traits fostered in the programs of the Wayne PAL.

Elaine C. Schoenfeld Memorial Scholarship
Presented in the honor of Elaine C. Schoenfeld, an elegant lady who realized the importance of what the PAL represents and the impact it has on the youth of Wayne.  In her quiet manner, she touched the lives of many of our children, sacrificing much and asking nothing in return.


1999 1987
    Daniel Feinberg Frank Bucci Paul Cooke
    Matthew Greenfield Dana DeGarcia Mark Feldman
    Marni Millstein Kristen DeMarco William Seugling
    Jamie Pospishil Christopher Doheny Erick Ramoth

1998 1986
Andrew Fournier Lauren Kerr Jeffrey Warhaftig
Andrew DeFilippis Geoffrey Lester Michael Fuchs
Emily Spazante Wade Stier David Vladyka
Louis Trentacost Steve Schneiderman John Garrity
2010 1997 1985
Michael Maglio Susan Skillman Lawrence Kohn
Rebecca Nemeh Marc LaVorgna Kevin McDonald
Tim Divers Kerri Webb Thomas Rufo
Amrita Singh Alyssa Hersh David Lawrence
2009 1996 1984
Casey Timorason Lauren Cooke Kevin Rehberger
Alyssa Fitzpatrick Robert Caridad Theadore Pastor
Allison Becker Jason Tirri Frances Cook
Luke Rigoglioso John Vivino Jean Scarperi
2008 1995 1983
Matthew Taylor Keith Hanenberg Timothy Drost
Elizabeth Matthews Douglas Salmanowitz William Acampora
Christopher Hirsch Benjamin Pomeranc James Rutan
Victor Trentacost David Vivino Brian Smith
2007 1994 1982
Patrick Trentacost,Jr. Matthew Cuviello George Thies
Charles Rigoglioso Michael Lauder Stephen Danek
Michael Slevin Jeremy Reiss Michael Garruto
Christyn Scillieri Joseph Vadakkekara Darren McDonald
2006 1993 1981
Adam Fitzpatrick Thomas Halleran Robert Anderson
Christopher Bracco Joe Bisz Donna Cavallo
David Harrison Brian Katz Tim Hassett
Kristin Divers James Tybur Richard Taub
2005 1992 1980
Brian Miller Mark Lawrence Kim Muller
Anita Singh Jeffrey Lieberman Chris Ruegg
James Scillieri Renee Garrison John Mikalonis
Mark Tufano Daniel Gassert Brian McDonald
2004 1991 1979
Nicholas Mulvihill Jonathan Cuviello Brenda Weinmann
Sean VanSchaften Brian Salmanowitz Tony Rufo
Andrew Bucci Harris Frommer Victor Signorelli
John Wagner Jay Vesota John Hannigan
2003 1990 1978
James Hohnau Ninad Shroff Bill Lucas
Michael Golub Evan Tomaskovic Cynthia Christiano
Jason DeMarco Darren Wesley Robert Muller
Cara Leonard David Kartch David Rogalski
2002 1989 1977
Nina Tufano David Gorab William Spazante
Paul Millar Mike Epstein Donn Zacune
Sonak Shah Chris Radzik Donald Rogalski
Anthony Schlachter, Jr. Tracey Aronson Glenn McDonald
2001 1988 1976
Eric Chen Kathleen Kerrigan Kathy Capko
Michael Chiang Joseph Bailey Dawn Decker
Brian Pickler Jeralyn Lawrence Ronald Schanz
Allison Kerr Rory Lakind Tim Collins
Matthew Rubin
Jennifer Shea
Jennifer Hanenberg
Jill Friedman

Comments are closed.